Who will win Melbourne Cup 2020? What time is the race and everything you need to know

Australia’s most famous sporting race, the Melbourne Cup, is here.

The iconic race will no doubt look very different this year, with coronavirus restrictions ensuring the stands won’t be full of cheering spectators — but there will undoubtedly still be plenty to cheer for.

Here’s everything you need to know — from how to watch, what the weather could offer, and who to put your money on.


10:45am — Race 1, Darley Maribyrnong Plate (1000m)

11:20am — Race 2, World Horse Racing Desirable Stakes (1400m)

12pm — Race 3, Schweppervescence Plate (1000m)

12:40pm — Race 4, The Macca’s Run Handicap (2800m)

1.20pm — Race 5, TAB Trophy (1800m)

1:55pm — Race 6, Grinders Coffee Roasters Trophy (1400m)


4pm — Race 8, Furphy Plate (1800m)

4:40pm — Race 9, The Hong Kong Jockey Club Stakes (1400m)

5:15pm — Race 10, MSS Security Sprint (1200m)

All times AEDT


International raiders are currently listed as the betting favourites with Irish import Tiger Moth the frontrunner.

Aidan O’Brien’s horse is the shortest priced despite having never run on Australian shores. He’s followed by O’Brien’s other runner Anthony Van Dyck, along with local hope Surprise Baby.

Prince of Arran, who finished second in last year’s race, is narrowly behind.

Tiger Moth — $8

Anthony Van Dyck — $8.50

Surprise Baby — $8.50

Prince of Arran — $10


Tiger Moth before galloping during trackwork at Werribee Racecourse.Source:Getty Images


Melbourne is preparing for unseasonably warm weather on Tuesday.

The Bureau of Meteorology is forecasting a top of 29 degrees in the Victorian capital as the country prepares for the most unusual Melbourne Cup in history, with spectators banned from attending the race because of COVID-19 restrictions.

No rain is expected, which will hamper those runners — like Cox Plate winner Sir Dragonet and Caulfield Cup victor Verry Elleegant — who thrive in the wet.

The mercury will rise to its highest point of the week in time for Cup Day, an anomaly for Melbourne in early November. Maximum temperatures are predicted to drop down into the teens for much of the remainder of the week but the weather gods will be smiling on Flemington come Tuesday afternoon.


Channel 10 will be the host broadcaster of the race that stops a nation, with coverage commencing at around 10am AEDT on free-to-air TV and their streaming platform, TenPlay.

You can also watch the race on the Racing.com, which is available on free-to-air and digital platforms, including Kayo.

Foxtel’s Sky Racing will also show the race, but with a five-minute delay.

If you’d prefer the old-fashioned experience, the race will be called on the following radio stations:

• RSN Racing & Sport on 927 AM

• 3AW in Melbourne on 693 AM

• Triple M: Sydney 104.9FM, Brisbane 104.5FM, Adelaide 104.7FM and Melbourne 105.1FM

• ABC Grandstand: local radio

• SEN on 1116 AM


The same prize money is on offer in 2020 as it was in 2019, with a total of $8 million on the table.

The breakdown for horses in the race is as follows:

1st: $4.4 million

2nd: $1.1 million

3rd: $550,000

4th: $350,000

5th: $230,000

6th-12th: $160,000

Anthony Van Dyck ridden by Hugh Bowman.Source:Getty Images


2019: Vow and Declare

2018: Cross Counter

2017: Rekindling

2016: Almandin

2015: Prince of Penzance

2014: Protectionist

2013: Fiorente

2012: Green Moon

2011: Dunaden

2010: Americain

2009: Shocking

2008: Viewed

2007: Efficient

2006: Delta Blues

2005: Makybe Diva

2004: Makybe Diva

2003: Makybe Diva

2002: Media Puzzle

2001: Ethereal

2000: Brew


2005: Makybe Diva’s hat-trick

After claiming victories in the previous two years, the nation was eager for Makybe Diva to become the first winner of three consecutive Melbourne Cup races.

The legendary horse did just that, retiring immediately after claiming the historic hat-trick.

2008: One dozen for Cummings

Bart Cummings achieved a remarkable feat in 2008 when Viewed crossed first in the 2008 Cup — winning the trainer his 12th Melbourne Cup and etching himself in history as one of the all-time greats.

2015: First female winner

Against all odds, Michelle Payne became the first female jockey to win the Melbourne Cup in 2015.

Riding Prince of Penzance, Payne pulled ahead of the frontrunners with only 100m left, surprising millions.

— with James Matthey, Nic Savage James McKern and Natalie Brown

Source: Read Full Article