Root and Buttler honoured as ICC names Test, ODI and T20I teams of the year

England stars Joe Root and Jos Buttler have been honoured by the ICC with spots in their respective Test and T20I teams of the year.

Root scored 1,708 Test runs at an average of 61.00 this year, the third most ever in a calendar year.

Root is the only England representative in the ICC's Test team of the year and slots in at number four, with Dimuth Karunaratne, Rohit Sharma and Marnus Labuschagne making up the top three.

Kane Williamson was handed the captaincy ahead of Root and bats at number five, with Fawad Alam and Rishabh Pant rounding out the top seven.

Ravi Ashwin, Kyle Jamieson, Hasan Ali and Shaheen Afridi make up the bowling line-up.

In the T20I side, Buttler has been picked as an opener after an outstanding year which saw him score a total of 589 runs and average a remarkable 89.66 in the T20 World Cup.

Partnering Buttler at the top of the order is Mohammad Rizwan, while Babar Azam, Aiden Markram, Mitchell Marsh and David Miller round out an impressive batting line-up.

Afridi also makes the T20I side, and leads a bowling line-up that includes Josh Hazlewood, Mustafizur Rahman, Tabraiz Shamsi and Wanindu Hasaranga.

There is not a single England player in the ODI team of the year, while several including the likes of Tammy Beaumont, Danni Wyatt, Nat Sciver, Amy Jones, Sophie Ecclestone and Heather Knight are honoured in the ICC's Women's teams of the year.

Beaumont makes both the ODI and T20I teams, with Sciver captaining the T20I side and Knight captaining the ODI side. Wyatt, Jones and Ecclestone all make the T20I team.

The ICC are yet to announce the winners of their individual awards and Root is in the running to be named Men's Cricketer of the Year, having been nominated alongside Afridi, Rizwan and Williamson.

Beaumont, meanwhile, is a nominee for the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year alongside Lizelle Lee, Smriti Mandhana and Gaby Lewis.

ICC teams of the year:

Men's Tests – 1 Dimuth Karunaratne, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Kane Williamson (c), 4 Joe Root, 5 Marnus Labuschagne, 6 Fawad Alam, 7 Rishabh Pant (wk), 8 R Ashwin, 9 Kyle Jamieson, 10 Hasan Ali, 11 Shaheen Afridi

Men's T20Is – 1 Jos Buttler, 2 Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 3 Babar Azam (c), 4 Aiden Markram, 5 Mitchell Marsh, 6 David Miller, 7 Wanindu Hasaranga, 8 Tabraiz Shamsi, 9 Josh Hazlewood, 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Shaheen Afridi

Men's ODIs – 1 Paul Stirling, 2 Janneman Malan, 3 Babar Azam (c), 4 Fakhar Zaman, 5 Rassie van der Dussen, 6 Shakib Al Hasan, 7 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 8 Wanindu Hasaranga, 9 Mustafizur Rahman, 10 Simi Singh, 11 Dushmantha Chameera

Women's ODIs – 1 Lizelle Lee, 2 Alyssa Healy (wk), 3 Tammy Beaumont, 4 Mithali Raj, 5 Heather Knight (c), 6 Hayley Matthews, 7 Marizanne Kapp, 8 Shabnim Ismail, 9 Fatima Sana, 10 Jhulan Goswami, 11 Anisa Mohammed

Women's T20Is – 1 Smriti Mandhana, 2 Tammy Beaumont, 3 Danni Wyatt, 4 Gaby Lewis, 5 Nat Sciver (c), 6 Amy Jones (wk), 7 Laura Wolvaardt, 8 Marizanne Kapp, 9 Sophie Ecclestone, 10 Loryn Phiri, 11 Shabnim Ismail

Read More

Read More

Source: Read Full Article