England name eight uncapped players in behind-closed-doors training group for Test series against West Indies

England have named eight uncapped players in their behind-closed-doors training group for the upcoming three-Test series against West Indies.

James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Jamie Overton (Somerset), Matthew Parkinson (Lancashire), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Amar Virdi (Surrey) have all been selected ahead of the series, which begins on 8 July at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton.

National selector Ed Smith, said: “Everyone involved with England is delighted that cricket is returning soon, and that the players are reporting for group training in preparation for the Test series against the West Indies.

Download the new Independent Premium app

Sharing the full story, not just the headlines

“We’d also like to thank all the county coaches who have supported these players over the past few weeks. A squad for the first Test will be announced in due course.”

The West Indies 39-person touring party arrived in Manchester on 9 June and are staying in a ‘bio-secure’ environment at Old Trafford for the majority of their seven-week stay.

Behind-closed-doors training group:

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Dominic Bess (Somerset), James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Sam Curran (Surrey), Joe Denly (Kent), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Keaton Jennings (Lancashire), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Jack Leach (Somerset), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Craig Overton (Somerset), Jamie Overton (Somerset), Matthew Parkinson (Lancashire), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Olly Stone (Warwickshire), Amar Virdi (Surrey), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

Source: Read Full Article