PFA Team of the Year revealed as Liverpool dominate with five players selected

Jordan Henderson leads a five-strong Liverpool contingent in the Professional Footballers’ Association’s Premier League Team of the Year.

Captain Henderson steered the Reds to their first top-flight title in 30 years as boss Jurgen Klopp’s men racked up a mammoth 99 points over the 2019/20 term – some 18 more than closest challengers Manchester City.

England midfielder Henderson scooped the Football Writers’ Association’s player of the year award, and has followed that up with inclusion in the all-star XI selected by his Premier League peers.

Marauding full-backs Trent Alexander-Arnold and Andrew Robertson, talismanic centre-back Virgil Van Dijk and flying forward Sadio Mane complete the heavy Anfield influence on the team of the 2019/20 season.

There was no place, however, for either their goalkeeper Alisson, or striker Mohamed Salah.

Manchester City’s Ederson claimed the golden glove award for the most clean sheets with 16, but Burnley’s Nick Pope got the players’ vote between the posts.

Pope pulled off a robust return of 15 clean sheets in a stellar campaign for Sean Dyche’s side.

Leicester defender Caglar Soyuncu’s fine form in helping the Foxes to a fifth-place finish saw him win a place in the XI’s back four, with Manchester City duo David Silva and Kevin De Bruyne slotting into midfield alongside Henderson.

Jamie Vardy scooped the Premier League golden boot with 23 goals, and the Leicester forward was duly voted into a three-man forward line.

Arsenal’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang completes the striking department having registered 22 league goals for the Gunners.

Southampton’s Danny Ings can count himself unfortunate to have missed out, having matched Aubameyang’s league haul in an impressive season.

Premier League team of the year

Nick Pope (Burnley), Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil Van Dijk (both Liverpool), Caglar Soyuncu (Leicester), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool), David Silva (Manchester City), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal), Sadio Mane (Liverpool).

Source: Read Full Article