Juventus 0-0 Inter (2-1 agg): Defensive masterclass sees Pirlo through

Juventus 0-0 Inter Milan (2-1 agg): Andrea Pirlo’s side produce defensive masterclass to book spot in Coppa Italia final… but it is despair for Antonio Conte as he misses out on ANOTHER trophy

  • A goalless draw proved to be enough for Andrea Pirlo’s side on Tuesday night
  • Juventus won the first leg 2-1 in Milan last week, after coming from behind
  • Juventus will face the winner of Napoli and Atalanta’s clash on Wednesday

Juventus booked a place in the Coppa Italia final after holding visitors Inter Milan to a 0-0 draw in their semi-final, second leg on Tuesday, sealing a date with either Napoli or Atalanta with a 2-1 success on aggregate.

Romelu Lukaku and Lautaro Martinez had chances to get Inter back in the tie in the first half, while Cristiano Ronaldo came closest to adding to Juve’s aggregate advantage in the opening period, having scored both of their goals in the first leg.

After the break, Ronaldo turned on the style and was only denied another goal in the tie by two fine saves from Inter goalkeeper Samir Handanovic.

Inter threw everything at Juve late on but veteran keeper Gianluigi Buffon and his defence stood firm to secure a spot in the showpiece match against the winners of Wednesday’s semi, with Atalanta hosting Napoli after a 0-0 draw in the first leg. 

A draw proved to be enough for Andrea Pirlo’s side who have progressed through to the final

Whereas, Antonio Conte’s Serie A side Inter Milan will miss out on yet another trophy

As a result, Juventus will face the winner of Wednesday’s clash between Napoli and Atalanta


Juventus: Buffon, Danilo, de Ligt, Demiral, Lobo Silva, Ju Cuadrado, Bentancur, Rabiot, Bernardeschi, Kulusevski, Cristiano Ronaldo

Substitutes: Szczesny, Chiellini, Morata, McKennie, Bonucci, Chiesa, Pinsoglio, Di Pardo, Dragusin,Frabotta, Peeters 

Inter Milan: Handanovic, Skriniar, de Vrij, Bastoni, Hakimi, Barella, Brozovic, Eriksen,Darmia, Lukaku, Martinez  

Substitutes: Gagliardini, Vecino, Kolarov, Sensi, Ranocchia, Perisic, Young, Padelli, D’Ambrosio, Radu, Pinamonti

Referee: Maurizio Mariani



Share this article

Source: Read Full Article