Championship, League One and League Two fixture list announcement date

It’s almost time for the Championship, League One and League Two fixture list announcements! So when do the seasons start? What about cup competition? And who are the teams to look out for?

  • Euro 2020, starting on June 11, is currently at the forefront of the football world
  • But the new domestic campaign starts swiftly after its conclusion on July 11
  • The Championship, League One and League Two seasons all start in August 
  • And the eagerly-anticipated fixture lists are set to be announced imminently
  • Find out the latest Euro 2020 news including fixtures, live action and results here.

The domestic season has now come to a close, with the European Championships taking centre stage.

The long-awaited tournament runs from June 11 until July 11, but the new domestic campaign is then right around the corner, with the English Football League to commence less than a month later.

And the excitement is already starting to build, with the fixture list to be announced shortly.

The games were crammed into a jam-packed schedule last season, having started in September due to the disruptions to the 2019/20 campaign. But it will return to the more traditional August start date this time round.

Additionally, there should be fans in the stadiums right from the off this season, though what restrictions will be in replace remain to be seen, in an immeasurable boost to the English Football League.

With the fixture list announcement quickly approaching, Sportsmail takes you through everything you need to know. 

Norwich were promoted from the Championship to the Premier League in the 2020/21 season

The fixtures for the 2021/22 Championship, League One and League Two campaigns will be officially announced at 9am BST on Thursday, June 24. 

They will come just over a week after both the Scottish Premiership and English Premier League fixtures are announced, on Tuesday, June 15 and Wednesday, June 16 respectively.   

When does the season start? 

As stated, the English Football League is back to its more familiar schedule, with the 2021/22 campaign getting underway in August this season. 

The Championship, League One and League Two campaigns will all get kick off on Saturday, August 7, which is a week earlier than the Premier League.

However, the EFL have announced that there will likely be a televised fixture on Friday August 6, which is routine for the Championship, with since-promoted Watford beating Middlesbourgh 1-0 in the opener last year.

Fans of the English Football League will be able to watch a total of 138 games live on Sky Sports next season.

Though starting at the same time, there are differing season-finales between the three divisions, with the League One campaign to end on the weekend of April 30, 2022, while both the Championship and League Two will finish on the weekend of May 7/8, 2022.

What about cup competition? 

Brentford were promoted to the Premier League with Play-Off victory over Swansea

Of course, with the English Football League, there is the eagerly-anticipated Play-Offs to contend before the season officially comes to an end. 

The EFL have confirmed that the Championship Play-Off final will be contested on Sunday, May 29.

The League One Play-Off final will be held on Saturday, May 21 and the League Two final will be on Saturday, May 28.   

Additionally, the first round of the Carabao Cup will start on the week commencing August 9, with the final then on February 27. 

The Papa John’s Trophy first round will start on the week commencing August 30, with the final on April 3.   

The FA Cup has not yet confirmed the dates for the 2021/22 competition as it is still welcoming entries to the tournament.  

Who are the teams to look out for?  

Sutton United sealed an historic first-ever promotion to the Football League last season

In the Championship, West Brom, Fulham and Sheffield United will all look for a fast start, after dropping down from the Premier League last season. 

Meanwhile, Hull, Peterborough and Blackpool will be eyeing up their first opponents in the Championship, while Swansea – who lost to Brentford in the Play-Off final – will look to swiftly put their disappointment behind them.   

As for League One, it was Wycombe, Sheffield Wednesday and Rotherham who dropped down from the Championship, while Cheltenham, Cambridge United, Bolton and Morecambe were promoted from League Two. 

Finally, League Two will welcome Bristol Rovers, Swindon Town, Rochdale and Northampton Town after they were relegated from League One, while Sutton United sealed an historic first-ever promotion to the Football League last season.   

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article