All 24 AFCON nicknames from the National Elephants to the Lions of Chinguetti

The 2021 Africa Cup of Nations gets underway this week as 24 sides go head-to-head in the dream of winning international glory the following month.

With hosts Cameroon looking to win back the glory they tasted back in 2017, Algeria are looking to retain their title after seeing off Senegal 1-0 in the 2019 final.

With the tournament sticking by the 2021 tag having been delayed from June of last year due to unfavourable climatic conditions, the likes of Sadio Mane, Riyad Mahrez and Mohamed Salah will feature.

Daily Star Sport has taken a look at the 24 incredible nicknames held by the competing countries, with three sides paying tribute to lions – and another three to eagles.

Group A

Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Ethiopia.

Hosts Cameroon go by the nickname The Indomitable Lions in a nod to the animals who live in the northern part of the country, with Burkina Faso known as The Stallions.

Cape Verde's nickname is the Blue Sharks due to the fact their waters are home to over 60 shark and ray species, with Ethiopia going by Walia ibex, an endangered species of ibex found only in their northern mountains.

Group B

Senegal, Zimbabwe, Guinea, Malawi.

With Senegal known as the The Lions of Teranga, which loosely translates to hospitable lions, Zimbabwe are simply The Warriors, and will be looking to battle their way to the knockout stages for the first time.

Guinea, who have called up Naby Keita of Liverpool and Ilaix Moriba of RB Leipzig, are the National Elephants, with Malawi going by The Flames.

Who will win AFCON 2021? Tell us in the comments section

Group C

Morocco, Ghana, Gabon, Comoros.

Morocco go by the nickname The Atlas Lions, another name for the extinct in the wild Barbary lion, with Ghana going by Black Stars.

Patrice Neveu's Gabon are known as The Panthers after the national animal of the country, with Comoros nicknamed The Coelacanths, a now-rare order of fish.

Don't miss a thing with our football updates!

Want to be on the ball with all of the latest football news?

Well then sign up for the brilliant Daily Star football email newsletter!

From the latest transfer news to the agenda-setting stories, get it all in your email inbox – don't miss a thing.

How do you sign up?

It only takes a matter of seconds.

Simply type your email address into the box at the top of this article and hit 'subscribe'.

And that's it, job done. You'll receive an email with all of the top news stories every single morning.

You can find out more information on our email newsletter on this link here.

Group D

Egypt, Nigeria, Sudan, Guinea-Bissau.

Mohamed Salah and Egypt are known as The Pharaohs, with Nigeria the Super Eagles, which is the bird which is included on their coat of arms.

Sudan go by the Falcons of Jediane, with Guinea-Bissau nicknamed Djurtus after the African wild dog.

Group E

Algeria, Ivory Coast, Sierra Leone, Equatorial Guinea.

Holders Algeria go by The Fennec Foxes, a fox native to the Sahara Desert, with Ivory Coast The Elephants, as the country was named after the animal.

Sierra Leone are quite simply the Leone Stars, with Equatorial Guinea nicknamed National Thunder.

Group F

Tunisia, Mali, Gambia, Mauritania.

In the final group, Tunisia are nicknamed Eagles of Carthage after the capital city of the Carthaginian civilisation, with Mali known as The Eagles.

Gambia go by The Scorpions after the predatory arachnids, with Mauritania the Lions of Chinguetti, after the trading centre in northern Mauritania.

Source: Read Full Article