NFL officially expands playoff field from 12 teams to 14 starting in 2020 season

The NFL's postseason party will be a little bigger in the coming years.

League owners on Tuesday voted to expand the playoff field from 12 teams to 14, making official a move that had been expected since the approval of the new collective bargaining agreement.

The vote took place as a conference call after the league meeting in Palm Beach, Florida, was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

In the new format, each conference will have an additional wild-card berth. Only the top seed from each conference will receive a bye, leaving the remaining six teams per side to face off in the wild-card round.

Had the rule been in place for the past season, the Los Angeles Rams and Pittsburgh Steelers would have made it into the postseason field.

Follow Michael Middlehurst-Schwartz on Twitter @MikeMSchwartz.

Source: Read Full Article